Latest News


The International Dental Educationists Association (IDEA) in collaboration with the Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, Virajpet hosted the fourth Pan-global Graduate Dental Science Symposium at the Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, Virajpet on 14th and 15th February 2020.

Quest 4.0 is the fourth edition of this program, which began in 2017 with a focus of bringing about scientific temper, encouraging innovation and creating entrepreneurs among dental undergraduate students. The program has achieved an international recognition from the year 2018, which saw a participation from over ten international universities along with almost 50 dental institutions from India.

Quest 4.0 was inaugurated by Shri Devesh Deval, Director, National Tobacco Control Programme and DDAP, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt. of India. Dr. Anil Kumar Chandna, Executive Committee Member, Dental Council of India was the guest of honor. Prof. (Dr.) WM Tilakaratne, Professor, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Clinical Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry, University of Malaya, Malaysia delivered the K.M. Kushalappa Oration. Dr. Anita Borges, Director, Centre for Oncopathology, Mumbai delivered the K M Ponamma Oration. An issue of Journal of Multi-Disciplinary Dental Research was released by the Chief Guest during the Inauguration program.

Dean Prof. Abu Hassan Mohammed Ibrahim, Dr. Mas Surayalis Ahmad and Dr. Nurhazirah Wan Ahmed Kamil from University Teknologi Mara, Malaysia, Dean Prof. Dr. Dewa Wedagama and Dr. Dewi Farida from University Of Denpasar, Indonesia. , Dr. Vo Truong Nhu Ngoc from School of Odonto-Stomatology, Hanoi Medical University, Vietnam, Prof. Aruni Tilakaratne from University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka and Dr. Tran Thuy Hong from Vietnam adjudicated various sessions and events.

Quest 4.0 saw an increase in the number of both international and national participants with over 100 international delegates (both students and faculty) from acclaimed international universities and over 500 delegates from various dental schools in India in this year’s event, which acted as a platform for a confluence of thoughts from across the world.

The prizes for the events were sponsored by:
Department of Oral Medicine – Table Clinic.
Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery – Gray’s Anatomy.
Department of Oral Pathology - DR. SHERLOCK.
Department of Periodontics - Pictionary.
Department of Prosthodontics - Quiz.
Department of Orthodontics - Collage.
Department of Conservative and Endodontics Dentistry - Pedagogy.
Department of Pedodontics and Preventive Dentistry - Spellathon.
Department of Public Health Dentistry - Oral Health Documentary
Winners and Runners
Prize Name of the participant College
1st Tanya Chondamma
Sushmitha P
Treesa Mary Joseph
CIDS, Virajpet
2nd Chithran Thirupathy A J Institute of Dental Sciences, Mangalore